Second Chance Cinema

Good Movies with Bad Reputations 

A long, long time ago I began a site devoted to films that deserve a second chance. Like many projects, I started it and never finished. One reason was because of IMDB. Why create my own database when other people were contributing to this gigantic database? And yet the concept “second chance cinema” remained in my mind.

So, here is the revised mission statement. I promise to occasionally post about movies that deserve a Second Chance.

Greetings and salutations! This site exists to praise movies overlooked for at least one of these following reasons:

  • The critics hated it
  • The critics hated it but the public saw it anyway
  • The critics loved it but the public stayed at home
  • Both the critics and the public hated it
  • It only played in regional or very limited release
  • It was marketed to the wrong audience
  • Because in Hollywood, no reputation is a bad reputation
  • Too many people have forgotten its existence
  • I like it

I have tried to adhere to the above criteria, but I have snuck in a few cult movies like “Evil Dead 2.” I will be adding movies as the whim takes me, so please visit often. Better yet, add it to your feed reader.

Leave a Reply

